FANDOM


Definition

I think the definition of a projectile in this article is very uncertain. Many hitboxss leaves the characters body. Maybe we should only take attacks other than item throws that can be reflected as projectiles?Timothyung 10:41, 8 April 2008 (UTC)

Isn't Snake's Up Special a Projectile? The Cypher flies up, creating a Hitbox...

yes it is. i've been hit by it before it's only a little bit of damage but it does inflict some. Carbonkirby 06:50, 26 April 2008 (UTC)
I would consider a projectile to be an attack that moves INDEPENDENTLY of the character. So basically it moves regardless of what the player is doing. Items ARE a projectile in the looser sense. Things like swords and other disjointed hitboxes would not count here, even things like Aether. Maybe the definition of projectile could have to do with how they are stopped. Plain old attacks don't get stopped by Resetti or breakable scenery but projectile do. But then this brings the question of Robo Beam, which is only stopped by vertical walls. It's a bit tricky.- Gargomon251 08:36, 26 April 2008 (UTC)
Also, other than some PK attacks, most projectiles keep moving even after the user is struck or KOd. Thus I still don't consider Reflector or Aether projectiles, since they have preprogrammed paths that cannot be stopped by walls etc. All projectiles are stopped by walls, right? But what about something like Zero Laser? Is this a "projectile" ir just a VERY VERY LONG disjointed hitbox? Think about it! This and Mario Finale more or less remain attached to the character, right? - Gargomon251 (talk) 01:20, 21 June 2008 (UTC)
Oil Panic = not projectile.-Gargomon251 (talk) 01:23, 21 June 2008 (UTC)
I think the best way the identify a projectile is the hit lag. The projectile user will not receive hit lag when the projectile hits. And ALL attacks that can be reflected are projectiles. - Timothyung (talk) 03:51, 14 July 2008 (UTC)
I just found the best and easiest way to identify whether the attack is a projectile or not. Just use a METAL BOX. - Timothyung (talk) 13:16, 7 August 2008 (UTC)
Nope, that doesn't work. Force Palm still picks up Metal Boxes, but Snake's fsmash doesn't. This would imp;y the opposite of what is actually the case. - Gargomon251 (talk) 00:52, 19 August 2008 (UTC)
If a projectile is an attack that moves independently of the character, then by that definition Pit's Arrows aren't a projectile. MooseEatsBear (talk) 20:07, March 1, 2010 (UTC)

Falco ssbb

Is Falco's reflector in brawl a projectile? Masterman (talk) 18:14, 20 June 2008 (UTC)

Yes it is. I had added it a while ago, but someone got rid of it. It functions just like the boomerangs, but with shorter range and other properties. But it is still projected and meets the definition. Clarinet Hawk (talk · contributions) 18:41, 20 June 2008 (UTC)

I'm not sure if is a projectile just because it leaves the hitbox. Most projectiles can be reflected or abosrbed, but his reflector cannot. Also, it doesn't really leave the collision bubbles either. I think of his Reflector more like a tilt instead. But I guess this is disputable... ItemHazard (talk) 20:43, 20 June 2008 (UTC) ItemHazard
I think that it is more like a disjointed hitbox than a projectile. It's just like Fox's reflector, but with a bit more range. --Posted by Pikamander2 (Talk) at 02:08, 21 June 2008 (UTC)

I agree with Pikmander about Falco's Reflector in Brawl being a disjointed hitbox. If Falco uses it while falling, the reflector doesn't go above him, proving that it's disjointed. Other than being able to reflect projectiles, Falco's reflector isn't comparable to Fox's and Wolf's reflectors though.--TStick (talk) 16:18, 3 July 2008 (UTC)

I honestly believe its a projectile as it travels very much like one.The collision bubble does leave Falco as well. If one uses a projectile when the reflector is at its farthest between Falco then there is no reflection.On a side note it is just as useful as Fox's and Wolf's. Please do not make an edit when we have yet to reach a consensus.(or have we?) - Hatake91 (talk) 20:49, 7 July 2008 (UTC)

No, the Reflector is no more a projectile than Great Aether is. It can't be reflected or absorbed, it doesn't move independantly, is interrupted by flinching, and it goes through solid walls. It's just a standard disjointed hitbox that just happens to make a small gap between itself and the character. - Gargomon251 (talk) 21:38, 7 July 2008 (UTC)
Remember it doesn't have to be able to be reflected or absorbed for it to be a projectile. But I guess its decided that Falco's Reflector is technically a disjointed hitbox with odd properties, that Nintendo put in as an excuse to say: Look! He kicks his reflector so he's not a clone anymore! - Hatake91 (talk) 00:31, 8 July 2008 (UTC)

Lucario

Wouldn't his force palm be counted as a projectile? Hatake91 (talk)

Not Sure. ItemHazard (talk) 20:43, 20 June 2008 (UTC) ItemHazard

Not at all, it's just a disjointed hitbox. It doesn't move on its own like any true projectile.
See discussion below. It's not that simple - Gargomon251 (talk) 17:33, 3 July 2008 (UTC)

Diddy Kong

Aren't his barrels counted as a projectile? If he gets hit while using UpB, they eventually leave his collision bubbles. ItemHazard (talk) 20:43, 20 June 2008 (UTC) ItemHazard

In that case, absolutely.- Gargomon251 (talk) 01:20, 21 June 2008 (UTC)
Additionally, it CAN be reflected, but won't always seek targets. - Gargomon251 (talk) 04:25, 21 June 2008 (UTC)

Disable

Is disable a projectile? It's proven that it can be reflected, but it's very short range and limited use makes it hard to tell... - Gargomon251 (talk) 01:31, 21 June 2008 (UTC)

If it can be reflected, then it's a projectile. At least, that's what I think. - GalaxiaD (talk) 01:47, 21 June 2008 (UTC)

Waddle Dee Toss can't be reflected...-Gargomon251 (talk) 03:49, 21 June 2008 (UTC)

any attack reflected by a reflector is a projectile.72.197.66.113 04:21, 21 June 2008 (UTC)

This is a case of "all A are B, but not all B are A". I suppose you're right in this case.- Gargomon251 (talk) 04:32, 21 June 2008 (UTC)

Waddle Dee Toss can be reflected, but the Waddle Dee/Doo just bounce to the ground after being reflected.- Timothyung (talk) 05:56, 11 July 2008 (UTC)

Force Palm

This one is tricky. Upon testing, I discovered that it could be absorbed by Oil Panic and PSI Magnet, as well as reflected in a similar manner to Thunder. HOWEVER it never really leaves Lucario's collision bubbles, the grab overrides any projectile effects, and it can't ever hurt the same Lucario that used it, even at the closest range. The attack pattern seems almost more like a disjointed hitbox that you'd get from a sword etc. And as far as I know, the "flare" stops when Lucario is struck. Any ideas? I will add this information to the Force Palm page regardless. - Gargomon251 (talk) 12:22, 3 July 2008 (UTC)

It is a projectile. Try using it in the air. The blast stays at the same place, rather than moving with Lucario. It's simular to the blizzard.Timothyung (talk) 05:53, 11 July 2008 (UTC)

Blizzard

Is it a projectile? Or a disjointed hitbox? --Posted by Pikamander2 (Talk) at 13:55, 3 July 2008 (UTC)

Projectile. Can be reflected, 90% sure it can be absorbed, and it moves regardless of the Climbers: in other words, if they move forward (in midair or on ice) the Blizzard has shorter range. Think of it as an Ice element Fire Flower. - Gargomon251 (talk) 14:42, 3 July 2008 (UTC)

Needle Storm

I would consider Needle Storm more of a disjointed hitbox... wouldn't you? Kperfekt722 (talk) 16:23, 3 July 2008 (UTC)

Why??? What makes it any different from Falco's Blaster? Or PK Fire, if you consider the angle... It can be reflected, and blocked by characters or items, and reaches WAY too far to be a disjointed hitbox. I don't see why there's any question. - Gargomon251 (talk) 17:32, 3 July 2008 (UTC)

well yeah, but it doesn't go all that far in front of her, and (correct me if im wrong as i dont play as her much) but isn't it true she cant move after she has charged it? Kperfekt722 (talk) 00:37, 19 July 2008 (UTC)

No, she can. Needle storm is a projectile, end of discussion. Clarinet Hawk (talk · contributions) 00:44, 19 July 2008 (UTC)

Olimar

Are his smashes projectiles? It seems that Olimar does not receive hit lag. And also his grab. - Timothyung (talk) 03:51, 14 July 2008 (UTC)

His fsmash can't be reflected, and loses its hitbox, after a while, but I would sort of consider it a projectile....I would need to see when its interruptible frames are. - Gargomon251 (talk) 05:35, 15 July 2008 (UTC)
When his smashes hits a metal box, olimar doesn't turn into metal. So they are projectiles. - Timothyung (talk) 13:16, 7 August 2008 (UTC)
I'm still going to test the duration of the damage. The metal box is no longer an argument. - Gargomon251 (talk) 01:22, 19 August 2008 (UTC)
Duck test says they are projectiles. Clarinet Hawk (talk · contributions) 04:53, 27 September 2008 (UTC)

What?

how in the world are Inhale/Swallow projectiles?? they have a grab hitbox meaning technically they can't be projectiles! - Hatake91 (talk) 19:28, 7 August 2008 (UTC)

Inhale > Split out. - Timothyung (talk) 19:52, 7 August 2008 (UTC)

F.L.U.D.D?

Uh... --Posted by Pikamander2 (Talk) at 21:06, 15 September 2008 (UTC)

Hello? Anyone? What do you think about Mario's F.L.U.D.D? Is it a projectile? --Posted by Pikamander2 (Talk) at 14:32, 25 September 2008 (UTC)
Yes. Reflect it. - 71.90.137.45 16:21, 25 September 2008 (UTC)
Duck test says yes. Clarinet Hawk (talk · contributions) 04:52, 27 September 2008 (UTC)
What is this "duck test" of which you speak? - Gargomon251 (talk) 22:06, February 28, 2010 (UTC)
Gargomon, try crouching. I think Clarinet Hawk meant that since he can dodge the move by ducking down, it is classified as a projectile. Also, IPA, water can not be reflected, only blocked, by reflectors. Blue Ninjakoopa 23:19, February 28, 2010 (UTC)
That's a ridiculous criteria. There's many non-projectiles that can be ducked and projectiles that can't. If I can find no better evidence, I'm changing the Pikmin entry. - Gargomon251 (talk) 05:55, March 6, 2010 (UTC)
I thought the water could be reflected by caping...? Miles (talk) 23:27, February 28, 2010 (UTC)
nop Blue Ninjakoopa 01:47, March 1, 2010 (UTC)

Yoshi Bomb

The stars can be reflected and absorbed. --Posted by Pikamander2 (Talk) at 21:01, 8 December 2008 (UTC)

More of a shockwave than a projectile. I'm Alex25, King of Randomness! Say Hi to me! Random stuff! 21:06, 8 December 2008 (UTC)

King Dedede's aren't projectiles. Blue Ninjakoopa Happy Holidays 17:20, 23 December 2008 (UTC)

Pikamander2

If you can't read, there was a discussion about Lucario's force palm not being a projectile, but rather a disjointed hitbox. I don't want an edit war. Blue Ninjakoopa Happy Holidays 17:22, 23 December 2008 (UTC)

Upon looking at the section again, it looks like it was never agreed upon. There are several reasons why it should be considered be a projectile, and why it shouldn't be. I'll take it off of the page for now, but what do you think we should do about pseudo-projectiles? There is still no clear definition of what a projectile is. Maybe they should be included on the page, but then the Unique Properties section would explain what makes them different? --Posted by Pikamander2 (Talk) at 17:32, 23 December 2008 (UTC)

Thanks for being so understanding =) Define pseudo-projectile? Blue Ninjakoopa Happy Holidays 17:37, 23 December 2008 (UTC)

By pseudo-projectile, I mean an attack that has some projectile properties, but some normal-attack properties too. --Posted by Pikamander2 (Talk) at 17:41, 23 December 2008 (UTC)

Well, if you mean that, I think all projectiles should be listed that can be reflected. What I consider pseudo-projectiles oare Din's Fire and Snake's U-smash. Also, King Dedede's Waddle Dee's are unable to be reflected, as his Gordo's are. Blue Ninjakoopa Happy Holidays 17:44, 23 December 2008 (UTC)

That's what I think we should do. Does anybody else have another idea? --Posted by Pikamander2 (Talk) at 17:56, 23 December 2008 (UTC)

How about we use a separate chart? Blue Ninjakoopa Happy Holidays 17:57, 23 December 2008 (UTC)

Maybe, but that would bring up the problem of which attacks should go onto the normal chart, and which ones should go onto the separate chart. --Posted by Pikamander2 (Talk) at 01:19, 24 December 2008 (UTC)

ZSS's suit that falls off- where does it go? It should be a projectile, just like Gyro. Friedbeef1 Ho ho ho! 17:58, 23 December 2008 (UTC)

Hmm, should it go under Samus or ZSS? --Posted by Pikamander2 (Talk) at 18:32, 23 December 2008 (UTC)

Kirby Chef?

I read someone claim somewhere that if Kirby copies G&W and uses Chef, the projectile functions as an energy projectile instead of a physical one. Can anyone confirm this? Miles (talk) 15:32, January 17, 2010 (UTC)

Just tested, it's true. For testing I used GW's Bucket to check. Kirby's would absorb but not GW's.Smoreking(T) (c) 00:15, March 1, 2010 (UTC)
No. Oil panic can absorb G&W's own chef. It's the only phsical projectile it can absorve. Try it with Ness' PSI magnet. 98.117.158.220 01:17, March 2, 2010 (UTC)

Aether

Is the part when Ike throws the sword up a projectile? Cause it can damage enemies. 98.117.158.220 23:30, February 28, 2010 (UTC)

I doubt it, it can't be reflected in any manner, and it has no properties of a projectile, other than leaving Ike's body.Smoreking(T) (c) 00:15, March 1, 2010 (UTC)
It fits the def. 98.117.158.220 00:20, March 1, 2010 (UTC)
Aether is like Falco's reflector: while it's disjointed, it never produces an independent object. That by me is the definition of a projectile. Toomai Glittershine Toomai The Stats Guy 00:24, March 1, 2010 (UTC)

Why the arbitrary restriction?

Is there any particular reason why Final Smash projectiles aren't listed on this page? Toomai Glittershine Toomai 21:06, August 23, 2010 (UTC)

Snake's Up Smash

The list states that snake's up smash can not be reflected. You can not alter its path, but if you use a reflector, the missile will hit and damage Snake upon landing, going trought you without harm. Isn't that considered a "reflection"? 83.39.249.212 14:08, April 10, 2011 (UTC)

Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.