Erase Data is an option appearing in all four installments of the Super Smash Bros. games. It allows the player to erase any specific data in the game, such as high scores, trophies, and more. In the first three installments (Super Smash Bros., Super Smash Bros. Melee, and Super Smash Bros. Brawl), the option to erase only one category of data is available (including an "Erase All" function).
Once the player chooses to erase all data (by choosing "Erase All"), there is no way to recover it when erased. A copy of the game data would be wise to create on a separate memory card before performing this procedure. However, while that is possible in Melee, this isn't possible in the Smash 64 nor Brawl. In Smash 64, the game data is saved to the Nintendo 64 game cartridge on the N64, while in Brawl the game data can not be copied from one Wii to another (nor to an SD Card).
- Brawl is the only installment in the series which does not offer the "Erase Hidden Characters" and "Erase Hidden Stages" options.
- In Brawl, unlike the previous two out of the first three installments (Smash 64 and Melee), when "Erase all" is selected, the game asks the players three times (prompts the player three times) if they are sure they want to lose that data. The first prompt plays a siren, the second one plays a sped up version of the siren, and the third and final plays an alarm similar to Melee's challenger approaching theme.